Grants entry to students from epidemiologically safe countries

Grants entry to students from epidemiologically safe countries
  • 3rd June, 2021

Following the resolution offered by the Government of the Russian Federation No. 639-r issued on 16.03.2021, international undergraduate students, postgraduates, clinical residents, and learners of Pre-University Tutorials Departments are allowed to return to Russia to resume their studies in person.

It should be kept in mind that entry is open only for students or learners who are coming from countries that are singled out by Rospotrebnadzor (Russian Federal State Agency for Health and Consumer Rights) as epidemically safe.

As of today, international students from Abkhazia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Vietnam, Greece, Egypt, India, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Kyrgyzstan, Cuba, Maldives, the United Arab Emirates, Seychelles, Serbia, Singapore, Tanzania, Turkey, Finland, Switzerland, South Korea, South Ossetia, Japan and persons with a residence permit or other document confirming the right of abode in these states are permitted to enter Russia through air checkpoints across the state border of the Russian Federation.

The list of safe countries, regularly updated by Rospotrebnadzor, will be brought to students’ attention by the university they are assigned to, including through personal electronic accounts of students, as well as through official pages in social media and messengers.

Before arriving in Russia, international students are obligated to notify the university about the entry date at least 10 days in advance via e-mail: After sending the email, students will receive information about their entry dates.

Not earlier than 3 calendar days before learners trip to Russia, a student is obligated to take a PCR COVID-19 test and, if the result is negative, receive the corresponding document in Russian or English language in their country.

Within 72 hours after entering the territory of Russia, all the international students must take a second PCR test. Awaiting results, a student goes on self-isolation at the place of residence. During the isolation period, classes are attended online. Without a repeated test, international students are not permitted to classes in person.

If while on self-isolation, the first symptoms of an acute respiratory disease develop (fever, sore throat, running nose, cough), you should immediately inform the university and call a doctor.